Scouting for boys

How uplifting to read that the Scout Association is actively encouraging gay people to join its ranks.  The first person I came out to over 20 years ago was my Scout Leader.  Things were so much more shadowy then, and he was warmly encouraging and totally discrete.  He built me up and urged on my way along the road to self-discovery and confidence.

My interest in personal development and leadership was nurtured in the Scouts.  I learnt about teamwork, taking responsibility, courage and self-reliance through my 15 years’ involvement as a Cub, Scout, Venture Scout and Leader.  All this came through my involvement in the most amazing range of activities, from camping and hiking, through rock climbing and abseiling to sailing and rowing.  The Scouts helped to make me the person I am today.

Through Gay Life Coach we seek to build people up, to use the most of their talents, to believe in themselves, to take responsibility for their lives.  Baden Powell would be proud of the work we do, I am sure.

I am grateful to all those men and women who gave up their time to allow me to have the adventures I did in the Scouts.  I have no idea how many of them were gay, but I am delighted that any who are now have the support of the Scout Association to be themselves.

gaylife app

See more on how you can make the most of all your talents through our 5-star reviewed gaylife app!!

About Gay Life Coach
We help gay men to meet and find the right man, grow in confidence and self-esteem and lead happier, healthier lives.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 54 other followers

